Forum Replies Created

Viewing 15 posts - 211 through 225 (of 367 total)
    • 10 July 2023 at 11:59 am #668

      Excellent!

        10 July 2023 at 11:40 am #666

        Hi acmcool,

        A few questions:
        – What versions of SMAART and FIR Designer M are you using? (Which SMAART 9 product?)
        – In SMAART, in Options->API, is the API set to enabled and have you subsequently restarted SMAART?
        – Is your macbook air connected to a Wifi network when running both SMAART and FIR Designer M?

        Best,
        EA Support

          18 April 2023 at 10:35 pm #654

          Great!

            18 April 2023 at 9:34 pm #651

            I’ve looked over your system and in the IIR filters, there may be too many biquads. (I parametric = 1 biquad. For HPF’s and LPF’s, each order 2 = 1 biquad; so a 4th order HPF = 2 biquads.) The Lake API has a comment that hardware limits the number of biquads, shared across all channels, to 37. Your system has.

            Channel 1 = 12
            Channel 2 = 14
            Channel 3 = 12
            Total = 38

            Maybe remove a few filters and see if the “invalid parameter” error goes away. We don’t access to our Lab Gruppen test hardware for about a week, so we can’t test your system until next week.

            Best regards,
            EA Support

              18 April 2023 at 6:38 pm #649

              Hi Helge,

              >> Also, is there a way of making the LM behave as a 2 in/6 out with the FIR module from Eclipse?
              >> I got an error message when I tried to load the open module in module B saying I had to load it in module A.
              >> It loads in module A setting up LM26 as a 1 in/3 out processor.

              I don’t know specifically about the LM26 but on the original PLM amplifiers (not the PLM+), a FIR 3-way replaces two classic modules, and so must be loaded into module A. These PLM’s cannot run XP modules and cannot run two FIR 3-way modules, and from what you describe I suspect your LM26 is similar.

              >> I tested FIR Designer M with Lake LM26 last night.
              >> I have successfully loaded all 3 outputs in my design LM26 by loading them one at a time from a new, empty project.

              Sorry, I’m a bit confused. FIR Designer M pushes all channels, and input IIR’s, to the Lake module at once. How are you loading them into the LM26 one at a time?

              >> Lake Controller error code 2.
              >> A invalid parameter was provided.

              The Lake FIR 3-way has specific sample rate requirements. The input IIR’s run at 96 kHz. The output channels can be any combination of 12 and 24 kHz OR uniquely 12,24 & 48 kHz (in any order). These samples rates can be set on the FIR Designer M “Setup” tab. Even if no input IIR’s are used in your design, the input sample rate must be set to 96 kHz.

              If none of this helps, email us the system (FDS) and channel (FDP) files, and we’ll take a look.

              Best regards,
              EA Support

                13 April 2023 at 3:09 pm #646

                Noted.

                Best,
                EA Support

                  16 March 2023 at 10:11 am #639

                  Noted. Thanks.

                  EA Support

                    6 March 2023 at 9:37 am #634

                    Thanks for the files.

                    Impulse.txt loads fine.
                    RTA.txt is missing phase but we’ll have an update out shortly to just load the magnitude.

                    Regarding SMAART control, a TF average is streaming fine from SMAART v8 to FIR Designer here. However all TF’s that are used in the TF Average and the TF Average need to be “Active.” Just check the “Active” checkbox for each TF in the SMAART Control “SMAART Measurements” list, or turn them on in SMAART itself.

                    Best regards,
                    EA Support

                      6 March 2023 at 7:50 am #633

                      >> But REW RTA Window > Save Current > Export to txt > Import FIR-designer > impossible..please try to test it.

                      Have you compared the format of your REW RTA TXT file to the examples on our Import File Formats Page? If it does match but still won’t load, email us the file and we’ll take a look. The address is on the https://eclipseaudio.com/contact/ page.

                      >> I’m using Smaart version 8.

                      Thanks. We’ll take a look at the TF averaging.

                      Regards,
                      EA Support

                        5 March 2023 at 6:20 pm #628

                        Hi Eddie,

                        REW has multiple and different export formats. The page

                        Loudspeaker Measurement Import File Formats

                        shows two REW formats our software can import.

                        Regarding FIR Designer’s SMAART control, streaming of a TF average is not a scenario we have specifically tested. Which SMAART product and version are you using?

                        Regards,
                        EA Support

                          3 March 2023 at 9:16 pm #623

                          The IIR tab of FIR Designer can export raw coefficients for all IIR filters to a summary txt file, and the raw coefficients can be entered in this block.
                          https://wiki.analog.com/resources/tools-software/sigmastudio/toolbox/filters/general2ndorder/iircoefficient

                          We’re not familiar with the math behind the Sigma Studio IIR filters. Of the IIR modes we do support, some were created in partnership with the specific brand, and some we figured out through trial and error. We haven’t investigated Sigma Studio IIRs.

                          Best regards,
                          EA Support

                            17 February 2023 at 9:15 pm #621

                            Hi,

                            Since you only have the FIR filter coefficients at 48 kHz, try the following:
                            – start FIR Designer with an empty, new project,
                            – load the FIR filter onto the Target tab (in “File”) and uncheck both “Mag only” and “Phase only”
                            – set the “Design sample rate” to 96 kHz
                            – use the various FIR tabs to match the target response. (If the filter is fairly simple, the Auto Mag and Auto Phase may be enough to match the target.)
                            – on the “Export” tab, set the Filter length to 300 taps or longer and adjust the Filter delay to minimise the “Total Error.”
                            – then export to whatever file format you need.

                            We don’t have a separate converter tool right now, but we are thinking of making one. And obviously if you had the original FIR Designer project file, just changing the “Design sample rate” to 96 kHz and doubling the “Filter length” and “Filter delay” numbers would get you straight to a result.

                            Best regards,
                            EA Support

                              2 February 2023 at 12:15 pm #619

                              >> Thank you very much,
                              >>
                              >> One more thing. Something that would be an absolute game changer would be the
                              >> ability to load polar data for given loudspeaker channels and then see the
                              >> resultant polar coverage.
                              >>
                              >> Something like Vituix has however in combination with all of the functionality
                              >> you have in FIR designer it would allow for extremely interesting control of the
                              >> polar coverage of a loudspeaker.

                              Take a look at the video on

                              FIR Designer M 2.0 Release | New Features & Functionality

                              There’s a Suppplementary Responses view that allows loading of measurements sets for each driver and plots both the driver processed responses and the combined response. Whilst it’s not presented in a contour graph, it does provide a means of checking the systemm response in different directions.

                              We’ll add a contour plot to the ‘todo’ list.

                              Best regars,
                              EA Support

                                21 January 2023 at 8:59 am #616

                                BTW If you only wish to use 1 output channel, you still need to set the other 2 output channels and the input channel. These other channels can be set with no enabled IIR filters and just am impulse FIR filter, but they do need to be set with something for the module to work.

                                Again, our apologies that this is not documented clearly.

                                Best regards,
                                EA Support

                                  21 January 2023 at 8:54 am #615

                                  Ok…. phew…. there is no problem after all. It’s just the order of operations that is important in FIR Designer. (Note: FIR Designer M, being multiway, handles all of this in one step, rather than the following.)

                                  1. Start the Lake Controller, load the FIR 3-way onto an amp module and press CNTRL-L to load the plugin. A message will appear saying the plugin has loaded.

                                  2. Start FIR Designer and open 4 windows (using the menu “Project” -> “New Window” each time).
                                  – Window 1 will be for the input IIRs
                                  – Window 2 will be for output channel 1
                                  – Window 3 will be for output channel 2
                                  – Window 4 will be for output channel 3

                                  3. Either load previously made projects or set up each FIR Designer window’s processing as desired. Ensure that:
                                  – All window FIR filters have a length <= 384 taps
                                  – Window 1 “Design sample rate” is 96 kHz.
                                  – Window 2 “Design sample rate” is 12 kHz.
                                  – Window 2 “Design sample rate” is 24 kHz.
                                  – Window 2 “Design sample rate” is 48 kHz.

                                  Note 1: the Lake FIR 3-way module has specific output sample rate requirements. Output channels must be 12, 24 and 48 kHz OR one at 48 kHz and the other two any combination of 12 and 24 kHz.
                                  Note 2: my previous message above was incorrect. The IIR mode can be any brand. Biquad coefficients for the IIR filters (from any brand) will be pushed to the Lake module.

                                  4. In FIR Designer, open the Lake DTP “Export to Lake FIR 3-way module” window.

                                  5. In the “Export to Lake FIR 3-way module” window
                                  a) For “Use FIR Designer Window,” choose Window 1 then press the Push “IIR Filters” button. The Input Sample Rate will show “96000” and a biquads number will appear.
                                  b) For “Use FIR Designer Window,” choose Window 2 then press the Out 1 Push “Delay, IIR + FIR” button. The Out 1 Sample Rate will show “12000” and a biquads number will appear.
                                  c) For “Use FIR Designer Window,” choose Window 3 then press the Out 1 Push “Delay, IIR + FIR” button. The Out 2 Sample Rate will show “24000” and a biquads number will appear.
                                  d) For “Use FIR Designer Window,” choose Window 4 then press the Out 1 Push “Delay, IIR + FIR” button. The Out 3 Sample Rate will show “48000” and a biquads number will appear.

                                  Prior to step 5.d), all the data is cached in the Lake Controller plugin but hasn’t yet been sent to the Lake FIR 3-way module. When step 5.d) happens, the plugin has all the necessary data and pushes everything to the module.

                                  Now the module is ready for measuring.

                                  Our apologies for the hassle. The module requires data to be set for every output channel, hence the need for multiple FIR Designer windows/projects. Again, things are much simpler in FIR Designer M since it already has all multiway channel data ready.

                                  (We’ll check that our YouTube video covers all these steps.)

                                  Best regards,
                                  EA Support

                                Viewing 15 posts - 211 through 225 (of 367 total)